• F/A-18 Experimental Flight Test Dinner Lecture
  • The AIAA San Diego Section is pleased to invite you to our first dinner lecture of the new year! Come join us to hear NAVAIR Flight Controls Engineer, Peter Dougherty, brief about the F/A-18E/F Experimental Flight Tests and the Transonic Flying Qualities Improvement (TFQI) devices developed to address wing drop.

    During EMD testing for the F/A-18E/F Super Hornet, a major deficiency dubbed "wing drop" was discovered on the seventh flight of the program. "Wing drop" was characterized by an uncommanded bank angle change at transonic airspeeds over a small angle of attack (AOA) range.

    Event Details:

    - When: Thursday, January 26th @ 6:00PM

    - Where: Giovanniís Italian Restaurant

    9353 Clairemont Mesa Blvd, San Diego, CA 92123

    - Tickets: Purchase Tickets

    - Facebook Event: Facebook

    Dinner will include a pizza and salad buffet. For more info about the event, please see the attached event flyer or our Facebook event page. For questions, email

    Buy your tickets by Monday, Jan. 23!

  • National Engineers Week!
  • National Engineers Week (also known as E-Week) is fast approaching! The San Diego County Engineering Council (SDCEC) is currently looking for nominations for a variety of awards, including Outstanding Engineer and Outstanding Engineering Project. If you or your company would like to nominate someone for one of the awards, please visit the Awards Website. Nominations are due December 23rd, so don't delay! This is a great opportunity for our local companies, and the entire San Diego aerospace community, to be recognized for outstanding work.

  • Check out the latest AIAA Newsletter: AIAA December Newsletter


Check back for more news soon!

Interested in more aerospace news? Old posts can be found in the Blog Archive